Sour Breakfast Sweetness

I refused to leave the store without getting a loaf of bread to make perfect, homemade french toast.

About two Sundays ago, I prepared an impromptu brunch for myself which included scrambled eggs, toast, bacon, and homemade cinnamon french toast. Of course, the key to good french toast is the right bread.

The Sourdough bread never lost its texture will soaking up the batter for French Toast.

The Sourdough bread never lost its texture while soaking up the batter for French Toast.

A sales associate at my local Meijer grocery store sold me sourdough bread, guaranteeing that it would hold up well for french toast because of its stiffness. She was right! I left the bread out a few hours before making the french toast, and then assembled the rest of the ingredients. Sidenote: for this french toast recipe i didn’t measure anything. I literally eyeballed it. I added eggs, whole milk, butter milk, and lots of cinnamon. The result? Deliciousness on a plate!Unknown-2

Pick up some sourdough bread and treat yourself to a nice brunch!

P.S. — don’t forget the mimosa!

Leave a Reply

